41 apply for board seat


March 20, 2013


Contact: Heidi Embley
ASD Communications
Phone: (907) 7424158
Email: embley_heidi@asdk12.org
Web: www.asdk12.org


41 people apply for vacant school board seat

New member will be appointed on March 30


The school board office received 41 applications to fill Anchorage School Board seat D, vacated by Gretchen Guess earlier this month. The board will hold a special meeting to interview candidates and appoint its new member. The meeting will take place at 10 a.m. on Saturday, March 30 in the ASD Education Center boardroom.

The applicants are:

  • Anita Baker
  • Pearley Bingham
  • Crista Burson
  • Roselynn Cacy
  • Thomas Corkran
  • Stephanie Cornwell‐George
  • Ron Devon
  • Anand Dubey
  • David Dunsmore
  • Brent Fisher
  • Guy Fisher III
  • Ashleigh Gaines
  • Mary Gore
  • Wayne Grediagin
  • Marc Grober
  • Paul Hatcher
  • Corey Hester
  • John Hoffman
  • Tasha Hotch
  • Nels Johnson
  • Lilian Koenig
  • Donn Liston
  • Bethany Marcum
  • Starr Marsett
  • Angela Oberlitner
  • Tommy O-Malley
  • Kameron Perez-Verdia
  • Julia Petersen
  • Steve Pratt
  • Carl Propes Jr.
  • Anne Reed
  • Cheryl Rosa
  • Jennifer Sees
  • Derrick Slaughter (withdrew)
  • Grace Sy
  • Tregarrick Taylor
  • Clayton Walker Sr.
  • John Wanamaker
  • Gail Weinstein
  • Anne Wilkas
  • Vatoua Yang


The person selected to fill seat D will serve on the board until the April 2014 municipal election. At that time, seat D will then be up for regular election for a three year term.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.