Denali Awards


December 1, 2014


Contact: Heidi Embley
ASD Communications
Phone: 907-742-4158


ASD to honor Denali Award recipients for fall 2014

Award is highest district honor given to employees


Two ASD employees and two teams of colleagues were selected by a panel of judges as recipients of the Denali Award, a biannual recognition program that honors employees who have shown outstanding achievement, service and dedication in ensuring every student has the opportunity to achieve his or her potential. The Anchorage School Board will recognize the winners at its meeting tonight.


The fall 2014 winners are:

  • Tim Johnstone, Benny Benson Secondary School, math teacher
  • Ivan Doucet, Susitna Elementary School, building plant operator
  • Begich Security Team
    • Consisting of David Mcferon, Afa Ulufauna and David Rafter
  • Title I Instructional Team
    • Consisting of Beth Snyder, Kimberly Ball, Pam Christianson, Shelly Eldred, Stephanie Oja, Lindsey Fees, Linda Wichman, Amy Laufer, Jessica Graziano and Karen Iris


Read about all of the winners’ work in the school board memorandum.


Congratulations to the nominees: Rebecca Harrison-Drake, Denali Montessori School; Julie Sery, Fairview Elementary School; Jonnie Batac, Willow Crest Elementary School; District Test Coordinators; and the Human Resources Processing Team.


Supervisors have the opportunity to nominate employees each fall and spring. Nominations often include letters of support from co-workers, members of the community and students detailing why the employees are considered outstanding in their field of work. The awards are judged by a group of their peers.


ASD applauds these employees, and all nominees, for their amazing service to our students and this community. 

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.