District honors employees


December 3, 2012


Contact: Heather Roach
ASD Communications
Phone: 907-742-4151
Email: Roach_HeatherD@asdk12.org
Web: www.asdk12.org


District to honor Denali Award recipients for fall 2012

Award is highest district honor given to employees

Two Anchorage School District employees and two teams of colleagues were chosen by a committee of peers to receive the prestigious Denali Award, a bi-annual recognition program that honors employees who have shown outstanding achievement, service and dedication. The Anchorage School Board will recognize the winners at its meeting tonight.


The fall 2012 winners are:

  • Pattie Welch, Denali Montessori School nurse
  • Sandy McKinney, Trailside Elementary School administrative assistant
  • Romig Middle School music teachers: Bob Arms, Alison McCarrey and Katy Green
  • Clark Middle School literacy coaches: Dianne Orr and Christine Dennis


Congratulations to all nominees: Kim Weaver, Gladys Wood Elementary School; Jennifer Neff, Steller Secondary School; Martina Henke, Curriculum and Instructional Support; Teresa Dearborn, Nunaka Valley Elementary School; Margie Falsey, Rabbit Creek Elementary School; Jeff Chisholm, Benny Benson Secondary School; Airyan Pendergrast, Willow Crest Elementary School; Jesus Huambachano, Wonder Park Elementary School; Andre Camara, Operations Department; Hanshew Library Team, Hanshew Middle School; and the Wendler Rachel’s Challenge Team, Wendler Middle School.


Supervisors have the opportunity to nominate employees each fall and spring. Nominations often include letters of support from coworkers and members of the community detailing why the employees are considered outstanding in his or her field of work.


ASD applauds these employees, and all nominees, for their amazing service to our students and this community.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.