Ten ASD teachers among BP Teachers of Excellence honorees


April 18, 2016


ANCHORAGE (April 15, 2016) –  BP will again honor a select group of teachers from across Alaska for their exceptional performance in the classroom, dedication to students and contribution to the state’s future. Ten Anchorage School District teachers are among the 32 honorees.


Now in its 21st year, the BP Teachers of Excellence program will recognize 32 Alaska teachers in 2016, with winners receiving $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school.


“At today’s oil prices, we look closely at every dollar we spend, and we believe that continuing to support our teachers in communities across Alaska remains a great investment in our state and in our future,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss. “It’s another part of BP’s commitment to Alaska, and we’re honored to continue this great tradition.”


The program honors K-12 teachers from all school districts, including public and private schools. Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized 680 teachers for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. This year, the program attracted more than 1,000 nominations.


The BP Teachers of Excellence winners are:


Anchorage School District


Holly Adkins

SAVE High School


Dorothea Culbert

Mirror Lake Middle School


Kate Danyluk

Chugach Optional Elementary School


Margaret David

East Anchorage High School


Janelle Fey

Romig Middle School


Beth Ondra

Rabbit Creek Elementary School


Sandra Schmidt

Mirror Lake Middle School


Dennis Vecera

Ursa Minor Elementary School, JBER


Kathleen  Vik

Chugiak High School


Daniel Whitfield

Goldenview Middle School



Kenai Peninsula Borough School District


Darilynn Caston

Redoubt Elementary School, Soldotna


Sharon Hopkins

Tustumena Elementary School, Kasilof


James Knoebel

Soldotna High School


Nickole  Lyon

Seward Elementary School


Patricia Truesdell

Hope K-12 School




Fairbanks North Star School District

Elizabeth Beks

North Pole High School


Wendi Graham

West Valley High School


Elizabeth Hilker

Chinook Charter School


Lynn Johnson

Barnette Magnet School


Thad Keener

Denali Elementary School


Moira O'Malley

Watershed Charter School


Mary Reece

Anne Wien Elementary




Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District


Emily Forstner

Wasilla High School


Paula Hamand

Meadow Lakes Elementary


John Notestine

Wasilla High School


Penny Schram-Browner

Palmer High School


Kristopher Wagoner

Houston High School




Other Alaska School Districts


Madrigal  Brown

Village of Nuiqsut Trapper School

Cherry Eckland

Juneau Harborview Elementary School

Mindy Jacobsen

Nenana City Public School

Rob Parsons

Sitka High School

Linda Richter

Village of Kokhanok School



For the complete list of winners across the state visit: BPteachers.com.



Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.