Anchorage School District


2650 E. Northern Lights Blvd.,
Anchorage, AK 99508
(907) 742-8900 Fax (907) 742-8907

line decor
line decor


Tech Prep

College credit/trade agreements
Tech Prep is an articulation agreement between the Anchorage School District and post-secondary education institutions such as the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA), University of Alaska Fairbanks (UAF) or various Apprenticeship Programs (*). ASD students can earn lower division college credit when successfully completing high school tech/prep courses or other advancements with the Apprenticeship Programs. With the ASD-UAA articulations, a small registration fee and successful completion of the ASD course will earn students credit which is recorded on their permanent college transcript. College credits provide a head start toward a post-secondary certification or degree and are transferable to other universities or colleges. Tech Prep agreements with other institutions or organizations may vary. The following King Career Center courses presently have Tech Prep agreements:
• Advanced Health Career Pathways
• Automotive Maintenance Technology
• Aviation Maintenance
• Aviation Technology
• Business Technology & Web Design
• Carpentry*
• Computer Electronics Technology
• Computer Information Technology
• Construction Electricity*
• Culinary Arts
• Early Childhood Education
• Fire & Rescue Services
• Horticulture & Landscape Design*
• Natural Resources Management
• Public Safety & Security
• Travel & Tourism
• Welding*
Tech Prep agreements are added periodically. For more detailed information, please contact Tech Prep, 786-6183.

* These Apprenticeship Programs have articulation agreements: Alaska Joint Electrical Apprenticeship and Training Trust; Alaska Operating Engineers/Employers Training Trust; Associated Builders and Contractors of Alaska, Inc.; Ironworkers Local Union 751; Maintenance Repairer, Industrial Apprentice Program; and Southern Alaska Carpenters Union Training Center.
These post-secondary schools have articulation agreements: University of Alaska Anchorage; University of Alaska Fairbanks; and Skagit Valley College.