Adam Johnson Named 2017 Alaska’s State History Teacher of the Year


October 13, 2017


Josh Landon, Director of Marketing
Phone: (646) 366-9666 x37


Adam Johnson Anchorage, AK (September 29, 2017): Adam Johnson, a teacher at Romig Middle School, has been named the 2017 STATE History Teacher of the Year, an award presented annually by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, the nation’s leading organization dedicated to K-12 American history education.


Inaugurated in 2004, the History Teacher of the Year Award highlights the crucial importance of history education by honoring exceptional American history teachers from elementary school through high school. The award honors one K-12 teacher from each state, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense schools and US Territories. In fall 2017, the National History Teacher of the Year will be selected from the pool of state winners.


In 2004, Adam earned his Bachelor’s Degree from Western State College of Colorado. In 2014, he then earned his Master’s degree from University of Alaska Anchorage. He has instructed and participated in the National Geography Bee, Project Citizen program, We The People: The Citizen and the Constitution program, Model United Nations programs, and has mentored students in the research and project building for the National History Day program. Mona Grib, a previous Alaska History Teacher of the year, stated, “Mr. Adam Johnson instills a love of American history and government into his students in a way that will be felt for generations as some of his students become public policy-makers, history professors, playwrights, poets, and certainly all become historically knowledgeable, wellinformed contributing members of our communities."


In addition to a $1,000 honorarium and an award ceremony in AK, Adam Johnson’s school library will receive a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials. Adam Johnson will also receive an invitation to a 2018 Gilder Lehrman Teacher Seminar, a weeklong program that offers teachers daily discussions with eminent historians, visits to historic sites, and hands- on work with primary sources.


The National History Teacher of the Year award will be presented by Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Eric Foner at a ceremony in New York City on November 8, 2017. Past presenters at the ceremony include the Honorable Sandra Day O’Connor, Good Morning America's Robin Roberts, First Lady Laura Bush, former US Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, and former New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. Nominations for the 2018 History Teacher of the Year awards are now open. Students, parents, colleagues, and supervisors may nominate K-12 teachers for the award by visiting The deadline for 2018 nominations is March 30, 2018.


About the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Founded in 1994 by philanthropists Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is the nation’s leading organization dedicated to K-12 American history education. The Institute’s mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources. Drawing on the 65,000 documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials. The Institute’s programs have been recognized by awards from the White House, the National Endowment for the Humanities, and the Organization of American Historians.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.