Alaska Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of German holds Ninth Annual German Studies Awards Ceremony and Reception


April 15, 2015


Contact: Allison Brandt

Testing Chair Alaska AATG



The Alaska Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) celebrated the Ninth Annual German Studies Awards Ceremony and Reception on April 14, 2015 at East High School. The event recognizes elementary, middle school, high school, and university students in Alaska who have achieved excellence in German studies. ASD Chief Academic Officer Michael Graham welcomed students to the event and current UAA student Oliver Petraitis, a student majoring in Dual Languages (German and French), spoke to students about his experiences with studying at the university level. Petraitis, a graduate of Eagle River High School, shared his motivations for pursuing studies in world languages and highlighted the upcoming Fulbright exchange to Germany in which he will participate.


Annalisa Westerholt, a senior at East High School, received the German Learning Opportunities Website (GLOW) award given to an outstanding German student in‌ each chapter of the AATG. Noelle Coniglio, a junior at West High School, received the Langenscheidt award, recognizing the outstanding German student in the Alaska Chapter of the AATG. Peter Birmanns of the Rilke Schule received the Outstanding German Teacher Award, granted annually to a teacher in each AATG chapter for excellence in the instruction of German.


The Alaska Chapter of AATG recognized West High School student Ryleigh Robinson-Lovstrom for winning one of the coveted AATG/PAD study abroad scholarships. Robinson-Lovstrom scored above the ninetieth percentile on her national exam, and during an interview with local native speakers she was selected to represent Alaska in a national competition for the travel prizes. She is one of just 39 Award I winners in the nation, and will spend this summer in Germany (June 25 to July 19) with other recipients. These students live with a host family, attend classes at a Gymnasium, and participate in excursions to places of cultural and historical significance.


Dimond High School student Haley Rasmussen was honored as a 2015-2016 Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange (CBYX) scholarship recipient. Annually 250 American high school students and 75 young professionals, ages 18-24, receive these scholarships. Rasmussen will spend the next year studying in Germany. UAA student Oliver Petraitis received recognition as a 2015-2016 Fulbright Teaching Assistant Scholarship recipient. The US government awards 140 teaching assistant scholarships to Germany annually.


Outstanding University German Students of the Year
University of Alaska, Anchorage: Elena Stutzer


Outstanding High School German Students of the Year
Bartlett High School: Savanna Sahara and Katie Knight
Benny Benson Secondary School: Robert Flores
Chugiak High School: Maddie Smith
Dimond High School: Gavin Davis
Eagle River High School: Daniel McClain
East High School: Abram Throm
Service High School: Molly Johnson
South High School: Hayden Arend
West High School: Trenton Jacobs


Outstanding Middle School German Students of the Year
Hanshew Middle School: Camellia George
Northern Lights ABC: Alina Shen


Outstanding Immersion School German Students of the Year
Rilke Schule K-2: Heidi Schumacher
Rilke Schule 3-5: Edward Gregorin
Rilke Schule 6-8 Rebecca Weese


The Alaska Chapter of AATG also honored high school students who scored competitively on the National German Exams for High School Students given by the AATG. The exams are designed for Levels 2, 3, and 4 and approximately 24,000 students in the USA took them this year. Students scoring in the 70th percentiles nationwide received bronze awards, those in the 80th percentiles received silver awards and those scoring in the 90th percentiles received gold awards.


Chugiak High School: Max Ditzler, Jonathan Banovetz, Andrew Noble, and Steven Hobbs
Dimond High School: Liesel von Imhof
Eagle River High School: Thomas Miller, Cole Mooty, Jordan Ricker, and Nicklas Prior
East High School: Annalisa Westerholt and Mary Burr
Service High School: August Schumacher, Raymond Metzger, Caleb Vanblankenstein, Emily Dreher, and Tabitha Marley
South High School: Katie Hines and Ryan Ross
West High School: Hannah Hickenlooper, Noelle Coniglio, Ryleigh Robinson-Lovstrom, and Tristan Wiese


Bartlett High School: Jessica Lambert and Tiara Simmons
Chugiak High School: Cade Midyett, Brooks Klehr, Isabel Larue, Sinjin Acuna
Dimond High School: Madeleine Oakley, Naomi Oakley
Eagle River High School: Mikaela O’Hare, Cierra Stafford, Daniel Prior, Laura Barber, Maria Soshnin, Michael Prado, and Sierra Spiller
East High School: Jason Scott, Luca Schimski, Alice Prentice, and Sylvia Rein
Service High School: Clarisse Mock, Haadiya Cheema, Hunter Thompson, Jessica McKee, Noah Dean, Sarah Amundsen, and Zachary Scriven
South High School: Amanda Lundgren, Brice Wilbanks, Claire Gamble, Dylan Jones, Hayden Arend, Kenyon Wilson, Madison Maroney, and Mikaela Maroney
West High School: Eirene Abuan and Maksim Mayer


Bartlett High School: Desmond Palacio
Chugiak High School: Aileen Page, Daniel Ogden, George Copper, Madalyn Sayer, and Scott Sandback
Eagle River High School: Andrew Demma, Brenna Rollman, Collin McFarlane, Brandon Hill, Jalen Cox, Kevin Sutton, Madison Meyer, and Rebecca Nall
Service High School: Benjamin Wrede, Jack Martensen, Kaylee Gorrod, Lily Myers, Morgan Roberts, Sarah Souders, Taylor Ondra, Thomas Meyers, and Zachary Pinkley
South High School: Hannah Brown, Ainsley Podolak, Koen Bailey, Scott Parmelee, and Ry Weddleton
West High School: Anita Samuel and Sarah Kompsie

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.