ASD students to receive President's Volunteer Service Award


August 30, 2016


The following news release is shared on behalf of Friends of Alaska PYLI. Congratulations to the 22 ASD students who are receiving the President’s Volunteer Service Award!


Local Contact:
Beau Bassett
Friends of Alaska PYLI

Anchorage School District Students To Receive President's Volunteer Service Awards on September 6

On Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at 10:30 a.m. during lunch in the Bartlett High School Faculty Room, 2016 President's Volunteer Service Awards will be presented to 22 Anchorage students and the members of the Bartlett High School Multicultural Club. These students have performed more than 2,500 hours of volunteer service to their community during the past 12 months. The President's Volunteer Service Award is a national award funded by Congress through the Corporation For National Service and honors outstanding citizen service in recognition and appreciation to individuals  all ages for their commitment to strengthen our nation and communities through volunteer service. Students are being honored for a wide range of volunteer acts including helping the Bean's Café Kids Lunchbox Program, training  their peers in community leadership in the Alaska Points of Light Youth Leadership Institute and helping support church, school and neighborhood activities, events and festivals promoting education, understanding, cultural respect and healthy living.


The President’s Volunteer Service Award (PVSA) is the premier volunteer awards program, encouraging citizens to live a life of service through presidential gratitude and national recognition. These 2016 President's Volunteer Service awards were made possible by the  Anchorage community coalition Friends of Alaska PYLI and its lead sponsor, Jack White Real Estate.

Individual Student Award Recipients

Bartlett High School Students
1.  Cheng Her
2.  Chong Her
3.  Lue Her
4.  Mai Her
5.  Sue Her
6.  Toua Her
7.  Ying Her
8.  Tiawna Lecato
9.  Keng Lor
10. Mao Chai Lee
11. Ernestine Ndour
12. Kelly Vang
13. Kao Lee Xiong
14. Kao Nou Xiong
15. Kong Xiong
16. Hanting Yang
17. Ka Yang

East High School Students
18. Samantha Marie Anaruk
19. April Yang
20. Pa Ying Thao
21. Nicole Young

Hanshew Middle School Student
22. Gabriel Del Rosario

Group Award Recipient
23. Bartlett High School Multicultural Club

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.