Begich Middle School teacher to receive award for teaching excellence


July 27, 2012


July 27, 2012


The following news release is shared on behalf of California Casualty and the NEA Foundation. Congratulations to Begich’s Scott McKim.


Carrie McCloud

Communications Associate

The NEA Foundation

1201 Sixteenth Street, NW

Washington, DC 20036-3290

202.822.7806 (T) 202.822.7779 (F)


Scott McKim to be Honored by California Casualty and the NEA Foundation at Washington, DC Awards Gala


WASHINGTON, DC (July 20, 2012) – Scott McKim, a middle school educator at Nicholas Joseph Begich Middle School is a recipient of the California Casualty Award for Teaching Excellence, one of the nation's most prestigious honors for public school educators.


McKim is one of 38 awardees who will be honored at the NEA Foundation's Salute to Excellence in Education Gala to be held in Washington, DC on February 8, 2013. Known as the Academy Awards of public education, the gala attracts more than 850 of the nation's leaders from public education, philanthropy, and the private sector.


"We give these awards annually to honor and promote excellence in education and to elevate the profession. Educators like these are critical to their students' academic success, and they deserve national recognition." said Harriet Sanford, President and CEO of the NEA Foundation. "We are thrilled that California Casualty has joined us again this year to pay tribute to educators who are making such a difference in the lives of students in classrooms across the country."


"Educating our youth is so critically important. California Casualty is proud to partner with the NEA Foundation to pause and celebrate excellence in teaching," said Beau Brown, President and CEO of California Casualty.


McKim was nominated by NEA Alaska, National Education Association's state affiliate in Alaska. Photos and names of all of the awardees can be found here. Each awardee's school will receive a $650 award.


From the 38 state awardees, five finalists will be selected to receive $10,000 cash awards. At the conclusion of the Washington, DC gala, one finalist will be named the nation's top educator and receive an additional $25,000.


The NEA Foundation and the National Education Association jointly present the awards with support from California Casualty, the Horace Mann Companies, NEA Member benefits, and the Pearson Foundation.


The NEA Foundation

The NEA Foundation is an independent, public charity supported by contributions from educators, corporate sponsors, and others. We partner with education unions, districts, and communities to create powerful, sustainable improvements in teaching and learning. Visit for more information.


Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.