BP Teachers of Excellence


May 8, 2017


Congratulations to ASD’s BP Teachers of Excellence and East High’s Heather Roach who was named BP’s 2017 Teacher of the Year! The following information and attached photo of the honorees is shared on behalf of BP.



Anchorage School District BP Teacher of the Year 2017


BP Teachers of Excellence 2017 Heather Roach of East Anchorage High School is Anchorage School District BP Teacher of the Year and winner of a $1,500 continuing education grant. Roach has 22 years of teaching experience and currently teaches high school chemistry, robotics and anatomy.


The BP Teachers of Excellence program recognized 29 Alaska teachers, including eight from Anchorage. Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized nearly 750 teachers for their dedication to teaching and inspiring students. This year, the program attracted 1,000 nominations. Each teacher receives a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school.


“BP is proud to honor these great teachers and their tireless work in the classroom,” said BP Alaska Regional President Janet Weiss. “We see it as part of our ongoing commitment to the communities where our people live and work – and an investment in the people who help make Alaska great.”


Now in its 22nd year, the BP Teachers of Excellence program honors K-12 teachers from all school districts statewide, including public and private schools.


The BP Teachers of Excellence from the Anchorage School District are:


Sarah Birmanns Polaris K-12 School
Meghan Card Gruening Middle School
Tara Gardeline Rabbit Creek Elementary School
Deborah Mitchell O'Malley Elementary School
Nichole Pieper Ursa Minor Elementary School
Heather Roach East Anchorage High School
Gary Snyder East Anchorage High School
Stephanie Thornton Chugiak High School


Also this year, BP recognized education allies; those who support schools but are not employed as teachers.

The BP Educational Allies from Anchorage are:

Peggy Danewitz Northern Lights ABC School Noon Duty
Ed Scott Oceanview Elementary School Building Plant Operator


Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.