Chugiak ProStart Team Earns 1st at Alaska Culinary Competition


February 2, 2015


News Release
Contact: Kathleen Vik, Family and Consumer Science Teacher
(907) 742-3239


Chugiak High School ProStart students competed and won the Alaska ProStart Culinary Invitational Competition on January 31. ProStart is culinary and hospitality program developed by the National Restaurant Association.


For the fourth year in a row, the Chugiak Management Team earned a first place award and the opportunity to represent Alaska at the National ProStart Invitational Competition being held in Anaheim, CA in April.  Each team member earned more than $30,000 in scholarships. The team designed and presented a business plan for a new restaurant they called " Wrap It Up." Team members included Kaitlyn Head, Jordan Kesler, Michelle Eliason, Kamryn Froehle and Julia Turner. The team was mentored by Michelle Smith from Snow City Café, and Robert Kelsey from Simon & Seafort's.


The Chugiak Culinary Team earned a second place award following a first place award the past three years. Each team member earned $20,000 in scholarships and knife sets from Mercer. The team was mentored by Chef Naomi Everett from UAA Culinary Arts. The team had one hour and two butane burners to prepare two identical appetizers, entrees and desserts. The team menu included:  


  • Deconstructed mac-n-cheese with wild-caught Alaska golden crab, caramelized fennel and leeks, and lemon sourdough toast
  • Seared togarashi-crusted wild-caught Alaska black cod, boniato-chive mash, bunapi and enoki pickled mushrooms, and veal foam
  • Lemon steamed cake with watermelon mint sorbet, white balsamic vinegar reduction and almond gum paste flowers


Kathy Vik, Family and Consumer Science and ProStart teacher at Chugiak, was also named the Alaska ProStart Teacher of the Year.  She will be presented the award at the National Restaurant Association conference held in Chicago in May.  

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.