Denali Awards announced


May 19, 2014


Contact: Heidi Embley
ASD Communications Department
Phone: 907-742-4158


ASD to honor Denali Award recipients for spring 2014

Award is highest district honor given to employees


Two ASD employees and two teams of colleagues were selected by a panel of judges as recipients of the Denali Award, a biannual recognition program that honors employees who have shown outstanding achievement, service and dedication in ensuring every student has the opportunity to achieve his or her potential. The Anchorage School Board will recognize the winners at its meeting tonight.


The spring 2014 winners are:

  • Doug Williams, Bayshore Elementary School, teacher
  • Mario Jacobo, Williwaw Elementary School, lead custodian
  • Clark Middle School Music Department
    • Consisting of Aeneas Alldredge, Ashley Petito and Lynette Harple
  • Campbell Elementary School Custodial Team
    • Consisting of Art Chico, Severiano Mora and Michael Guintu


Read about all of the winners' work in the school board memorandum at


Congratulations to the nominees: Trevor Snyder, Chugiak High School; Wendy Lescanec, Ravenwood Elementary School; Frontier Charter School staff; and the Title I Instructional Team.


Supervisors have the opportunity to nominate employees each fall and spring. Nominations often include letters of support from co-workers and members of the community detailing why the employees are considered outstanding in their field of work. The awards are judged by a group of their peers.


ASD applauds these employees, and all nominees, for their amazing service to our students and this community.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.