Denali Award winners announced


December 17, 2013


Contact:  Heidi Embley

ASD Communications Department

Phone: 907-742-4158




District  to honor Denali Award recipients for fall 2013


Award is  highest district honor given to employees


One Anchorage School District  employee and two teams of colleagues were chosen by a committee of peers to  receive the prestigious Denali Award, a bi-annual recognition program that  honors employees who have shown outstanding achievement, service and dedication  in ensuring every student has the opportunity to achieve his or her potential.  The Anchorage School Board will recognize the winners at its meeting tonight.


The fall 2013 winners are:

  • Carole Schimscheimer, Girdwood K-8 School
  • Highland Tech Charter School staff
    • Amelia Johnson, Barbara Thurston, Lynda Barnes, Gladys Stokes, Adam Robinson, Meghan Mahoney, Kelly Daugherty, David Frame, Michael Welge, Karis Koett-Sena, Diana Burbank, Darren Kellerby, Kate Koll, Michelle Carton, Todd Burningham, Jan Gilbert and Nicole Crosby
  • Mears Middle School front office staff
    • Mary Andrus, Bob Dockter and Cindy Lelake


Read about all of the winners' work  in the school board memorandum at


Congratulations to the nominees:  Trevor Snyder, Chugiak High School and Kristen Denton and Ann Faulkner, Kincaid  Elementary School.


 Supervisors have the opportunity to  nominate employees each fall and spring. Nominations often include letters of  support from co-workers and members of the community detailing why the  employees are considered outstanding in their field of work.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.