National Merit Scholars announced


May 9, 2013


Contact: Heidi Embley
ASD Communications
Phone: (907) 742-4158


Two more rounds of winners to be named in May and July


Four ASD high school seniors were named winners of the 2013 National Merit Scholarship program.
The scholars are:

  • Anna Clink of West High School,
  • Zoe Danner of Frontier Charter School,
  • Madeline Endres of West High School and
  • Samantha Hartke of Chugiak High School.


These students each earned $2,500 scholarships provided by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. These winners are the finalists in Alaska judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. They were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors.


Scholars are evaluated on their academic records, test scores, leadership in school and community activities, essays, and letters of recommendation from their schools.


Additional groups of Merit Scholar recipients will be announced on May 29 and July 15.

Anchorage School District website accessibility and nondiscrimination notice. The Anchorage School District is an equal opportunity provider.