Return to Headlines

March 30, 2016 | Alaska Library Staff of the Year

Sharon Pinkney Award-300x298.png The Alaskan Library Association presented Clark Middle School Librarian, Sharon Pickney, the inugural Alaska School Library Staff of the Year Award for the 2015-2016 school year. 


The Alaska Association of School Librarians gives the annual School Library Staff of the Year (SLSOY) award to an Alaska school library staff member who:


    • Operates a library program that strives toward the goals set forth in Empowering Learners: Guidelines for School Library Programs and Standards for the 21st-Century Learner.
    • Promotes the development of independent lifetime readers and learners.
    • Is an integral part of the educational team.
    • Exemplifies professional involvement by sharing expertise with colleagues both locally and around the state.
    • Is employed as a library staff member currently working in a school library position and is not eligible for the SLOY award.  Staff member is either a certified teacher without a school librarian endorsement or classified library staff working independently or with a school librarian at his/her site.
    • Demonstrates professionalism such as by being a member of AkASL and other professional organizations.