• Language Arts Grades 6-8


    Language Arts at the middle level, grades 6-8, is a total of 3 years (2 semesters a year) of Language Arts, to include:

    • Language Arts 6
    • Language Arts 7
    • Language Arts 8


    Language Arts MTSS framework

    Tier 1: SpringBoard by College Board for core curriculum or advanced core curriculum

    Tier 2: SpringBoard Intensified

    Tier 3: Inside C, Inside B (Inside B courses include SIPPS - Systematic Instruction in Phonological Awareness, Phonics, and Sight Words)


    SpringBoard Grades 6-8 Middle School Scope & Sequence


    *Course offerings vary. Please contact your child's school for more information on specific courses.

  • About MTSS


    "The Anchorage School District defines the Multi-tiered System of Supports (MTSS) as an integrated, multi-tiered system of instruction, assessment, and intervention designed to meet the academic, social/emotional and behavioral needs of ALL students.  


    The framework is a “way of doing business" which utilizes high quality evidence-based instruction, and assessment practices to ensure that every student receives the appropriate level of support to be successful."