Sports and Activity Schedules


Fall Activities

  • Due to the escalating numbers of new COVID-19 cases in the Municipality of Anchorage, ASD is currently in a High-Risk situation for the beginning of the school year. As a result, ASD is postponing the start of the high school fall sports and activities to coincide with the start of the academic school year on August 20. 

     

    The District will determine whether sports and activities can begin after August 20 based on the community health situation and District risk level. All school or coach-organized practices and activities will be postponed until the community health situation allows. 

     

    The District will continue to develop detailed mitigation plans for each of our seven fall sports in the hope that we can begin a reduced season as early as August 20. 

     

    While we recognize the physical and mental benefits of participation in prep sports and activities, we have a public responsibility to weigh these benefits against the need to protect students and coaches from the increasing risk of exposure in our community.  

     

    We know that this postponement will be very disappointing for athletes who are eager to start their season.  We encourage all of our students to follow best practices to help mitigate the spread of the virus. 


  • High School - Fall
     

    Cheerleading

    Travis Morgan

    Chugiak High School

    907-742-3071

    morgan_travis@asdk12.org

     

    Cross country running

    Leif Jacobsen

    742-1816

    Bartlett High School

    jacobsen_leif@asdk12.org

     

    Flag football

    Josh Green

    East High School

    907-742-2141

    green_josh@asdk12.org

     

    Football

    Josh Green

    East High School

    907-742-2141

    green_josh@asdk12.org

     

    Gymnastics

    Alexandra Evans

    Service High School

    907-742-8163

    evans_alexandra@asdk12.org

     

    Riflery

    Ja Dorris

    West High School

    (907) 742-2700

    dorris_ja@asdk12.org

     

    Swimming and diving

    Leif Jacobsen

    742-1816

    Bartlett High School

    jacobsen_leif@asdk12.org

     

    Tennis

    Chris Ruggles

    South Anchorage High School

    907-742-6304

    ruggles_chris@asdk12.org

     

    Volleyball

    Alexandra Evans

    Service High School

    907-742-8163

    evans_alexandra@asdk12.org

     

    Wrestling

    Chris Ruggles

    South Anchorage High School

    907-742-6304

    ruggles_chris@asdk12.org

  • Middle School - Fall
     

    Basketball: Girls

    Jenny Whitt

    Clark Middle School

    907-742-0000

    whitt_jenny@asdk12.org

     

    Allen Wardlaw

    wardlaw_allen@asdk12.org

    907-742-7717

     

    Cross country running

    Christopher Bernoski

    Central Middle School of Science

    (907) 742-5150

    Bernoski_Chris@asdk12.org 

     

    Amelita Cadiz

    Wendler Middle School

    (907) 742-7300

    cadiz_amelita@asdk12.org

     

    Volleyball

    Christian Caldarera

    Hanshew Middle School

    (907) 742-7076

    caldarera_christian@asdk12.org

     

    Bennetta Orchitt

    Romig Middle School

    907-742-5216

    orchitt_bennetta@asdk12.org

     

    Wrestling

    Jason White

    Goldenview Middle School

    907-742-8242

    white_jason@asdk12.org

     

    Mike Scott

    Mears Middle School

    (907) 742-6400

    scott_michael@asdk12.org

  • High School - Winter
     

    Basketball: Boys

    Ja Dorris

    West High School

    907-742-2531 

    dorris_ja@asdk12.org  

     

    Basketball: Girls

    Ja Dorris

    West High School

    907-742-2531 

    dorris_ja@asdk12.org  

     

    Bowling

    Mike Frost

    907-242-3484

    frost_michael@asdk12.org

     

    Cheerleading

    Travis Morgan

    Chugiak High School

    907-742-3071

    morgan_travis@asdk12.org

     

    Cross country skiing

    James Hancock

    Dimond High School

    742-6996

    hancock_james@asdk12.org

     

    Ice hockey: Boys

    Travis Morgan

    Chugiak High School

    907-742-3071

    morgan_travis@asdk12.org

     

    Athletic Director

    Jason White

    Goldenview Middle School

    907-742-8242

    white_jason@asdk12.org

     

    Ice hockey: Girls

    The girls ice hockey program is coordinated by the Anchorage Hockey Association.

  • Middle School - Winter
     

    Cross country skiing

    Kelly Parsons

    Gruening Middle School

    907-742-3600

    parsons_kelly@asdk12.org

     

    Basketball: Boys

    Jenny Whitt

    Clark Middle School

    907-742-0000

    whitt_jenny@asdk12.org

     

    Allen Wardlaw

    wardlaw_allen@asdk12.org

  • High School - Spring
     

    Baseball

    Baseball is coordinated by 

    Alaska American Legion Baseball

     

    Soccer: Boys

    Vikki McConnell

    Eagle River High School

    907-742-2728

    McConnell_Vikki@asdk12.org

     

    Soccer: Girls

    Vikki McConnell

    Eagle River High School

    907-742-2728

    McConnell_Vikki@asdk12.org

     

    Softball

    Coordinating Organization

    Anchorage Sports Association

    907-562-1504 

    www.anchoragesports.com

     

     

    Track and field

    James Hancock

    Dimond High School

    907-742-6996

    hancock_james@asdk12.org

  • High School Activities
     

    Declamation

    Drama, Debate, Forensics 

    Denise Edwards
    King Tech HS
    742-8951

     

     

    eSports

    Denise Edwards
    King Tech HS
    742-8951

     

    Music programs

     

    JROTC Drill Competitions 

     

    Proms

  • Middle School - Spring
     

    Track and field

    Brian Hilmes

    Begich Middle School

    907-742-0540

    hilmes_brian@asdk12.org

     

    Baseball

    Baseball is coordinated by 

    Alaska American Legion Baseball

    http://alaskalegion.com/middle-school

     

    Softball

    Softball is coordinated by

    Anchorage Sports Association